AXA car insurance just charged me an extra £30 because I became a dad

I was going to renew our car insurance with AXA. Quickly reviewing our details, I noticed I had to update them as we now have a child under the age of 16.
What I didn’t expect, is that AXA will increase my insurance premium by £30, just because I specified I’m a parent.
I called them and they said they do charge parents extra, because having kids means they’re more likely to be distracted and make an accident.
Is there true? Is there any research showing that parents are worse drivers than non-parents? What’s more probable is AXA figured out that parents have less time to compare quotes, so why not charge them an extra £30, just because.
Mumsnet and Facebook forums, maybe you can make them change their minds.
non parent
Without 1 child

 

parent
With 1 child
Add a comment

