Why doesn’t Dropbox support dd-mm-yy non-US date format? [Update: now resolved.]

mm-dd-yyyyThere’s one thing about Dropbox that drives me nuts.  The date format.  If you use their website, all files are listed using the US format of mm-dd-yyyy (e.g. 06-16-2012).  According to this, only Americans and Belizans use the month-day-year format.  Most of the world, over 3 billion people, use day-month-year and over 1.5 billion (mainly in China, Japan and Korea) use year-month-day.   For anyone else, seeing a date like 10-01-2012 is hugely confusing (it’s October 1st rather than January 10th).

Quite a few blog posts, bug reports, and change requests call for Dropbox to let customers choose the right date format. Over 500 people even votes for it.  The strangest bit? only 32% of Dropbox users are American, so the majority of Dropbox customers would actually benefit from this change.  So how strange that this is still deprioritised.  It’s not like British users are asking Dropbox to change all Z back to S or something like that.

Anyone else finds this annoying?  If you’ve found a solution let me know in the comments.

Update:  Dropbox finally added the option to set the date format.   It’s here: https://www.dropbox.com/account.

11 thoughts on “Why doesn’t Dropbox support dd-mm-yy non-US date format? [Update: now resolved.]”

  1. Drives me insane! I get really confused when looking at the dates of changes made by other people within Dropbox as of course sometimes, it could easily be one of two dates. And then I remember it’s the US system. Basic failure.

  2. I agree – it’s really annoying. I’m used to seeing my recent files at the top of page, so when I went back to the Dropbox website view, it took me a while to work out which files I should be looking at – luckily I used the date in the file name so I could easily recognise the one I wanted. Please fix it Dropbox!!!

  3. Heartily agree – I’m one of the nearly 3 billion people who would like to see …. Day Month Year …….. logical and obviously democratically preferred.

  4. This has been annoying me for a couple of years. Between this and the recent re-release of Dropbox email addresses I’m getting tempted to try the 5Gb free Ubuntu One service.

  5. To change date format try this
    Sign in and go to Settings. Click second tab (account settings) in the account preferences click the time zone to Europe in the first box and then London if you are in UK.

  6. Drives me crazy too. I looked on their website and they say there is a way. I never found it though. Must be well hidden — agree with Simon Reed

    Come on Dropbox — get in tune with the rest of the World! Only the US uses this format!!!

  7. @Steve Snow: “To change date format try this
    Sign in and go to Settings. Click second tab (account settings) in the account preferences click the time zone to Europe in the first box and then London if you are in UK.”

    I see. Odd, since one’s timezone isn’t necessarily the same as one’s preferred language or country settings.

    Turned off “Automatically detect timezone”. Made the timezone Europe, London.

    Doesn’t work.

    Dates are still mm/dd/yyyy.

  8. Ditto. Very annoying. Shouldn’t be beyond the wit of man to pick up system settings. That blog posting linked to above is less than factual too.

  9. I see that you can change the date of your documents in dropbox, but if you try to add a date to an excel file in dropbox, it automatically changes to mm/dd/yyyy format and there’s no way to change that, so now I have documents that I have made in excel on my computer that have correct dd/mm/yyyy entries but any subsequent entries are automatically changed to mm/dd/yyyy and I can’t see any way to change that! GRRRR!

Add a comment

