The new Safari 4.0 is faster and cooler (but doesn’t let users customize their Top Sites)

Safari 4.0. Please let me customize my Top Sites.
Safari 4.0. Please let me customize my Top Sites.

I have just downloaded the new Safari 4.0 released a few hours ago for PC and Mac. It’s definitely faster and retains Safari’s (Apple’s?) cool factor. It’s even faster than Google  Chrome which doesn’t work well with my work proxy.

One thing which I already don’t like about it is that you just cannot customize the new a-la-Google-Chrome Top Sites screen. That’s the screen that is displayed whenever you open a new tab. You would expect to have the option to add manually new tabs (like BBC News or FT or Windows Live Hotmail). But there’s no such option. Instead, there’s a tiny caption saying that new sites will be added as your browse. This just doesn’t make sense; why not just let users customize their Top Sites list?

Add a comment

